I stink.

I feel gross.

I got out for a 6 mile run this morning. Thanks to my mother-in-law, our two older boys were having a sleepover with their cousins, so I also took an opportunity to sleep in. (Until 7:30!)

When I walked in the door all sweaty and gross, and realized my husband wasn’t home, (he had gone to the grocery store with our youngest), I quickly had to adjust my plans – which had included a nice hot shower. I knew that my kids were supposed to be home very soon.

It’s a good thing I didn’t shower. Sure enough, within 10 minutes she pulled up with a carload of cousins.

All the kids thundered into the house and into the basement to play, and after about 10 minutes I realized that my shower plans had been derailed. It just wasn’t going to happen.

At this point, I only had a short window of time (5 minutes) before we had to leave for my 6 year old’s baseball game. I quickly threw on some pants and washed my face so I wouldn’t look quite so, well, “post-run.”

Why pants? Well, this morning I went out for a run in a very short running skirt. Fine for a run, but not fine for an hour sitting in the bleachers with a bunch of other parents.

After the game we came home, ate lunch, and my husband took the two older boys fishing. Yes! Time for a shower!

Just as they pulled out of the driveway, the 2 year old woke up, ready for lunch and playtime.

Rats! Foiled again.

I’ll shower sometime today.

But for now, I still feel gross.

2 responses to “I stink.

Leave a Reply

