not fresh legs

Wow.  I am so very tired.

This has been a busy week.  I “failed” at the consecutive day challenge.  But, my reason for that is totally justified.  My sister had her baby boy on Wednesday after being almost a week overdue and spending two days in the hospital being induced.  So I spent most of the first half of the week anxious for news and the second part of the week checking in.  The day I missed my run was Wednesday, the day he was born, because I went to the hospital to visit him instead of running.

Yesterday was also a busy day, with soccer games, appointments, and yardwork, so I was only able to eke out a mile of “wogging” (walk-jogging) on the treadmill.  So today I needed a long run.

Boy, did I need it.

But…the wind was pretty brutal even at 8:30 am, as I ran headfirst into it, and so my 10 mile run turned into 9, then 8, then I settled for 7 when at 3.5 miles my legs told me that they didn’t want to keep going.  I turned around, and of course the return 3.5 was much more comfortable.  But my legs were still telling me they were tired.  After 14 days and only one day off (granted I have had some very, very easy days of 1-2 miles) my legs were tired.

Step Into Spring Awards

This afternoon I worked at a 5k.  It’s a huge  fundraiser for our elementary PTA’s (one of the LiveUncommon race series races this year), and it was our second year for the race.  I was on my feet from 12-5:30, and the race was a great success.  But I’m bone tired, a bit sunburned, windblown, and just plain worn out.  All I wanted when I got home was a beer and a hot bath.  I’ve had the beer, the bath has to wait a bit longer.

I’ll admit, the prospect of daily runs from now through the end of April is now pretty daunting.  Where last week I felt great and was full of excitement and energy from the daily runs, today it feels pretty darn overwhelming.  I’m sure it’s because I am just.so.tired.  Hopefully a good night’s sleep and I’ll be back at it.

Leave a Reply

