mayonaise (CD#7)

I’m pretty sure I’ve never run seven days in a row before.

I know that I run better on my long runs when I’ve run during the week.  But I never really expected this.  Today I was shooting for around 10 minute/mile pace, because I wanted to take it easy and not push it.  So I turned off the pace readout on my watch and just ran by feel.  I ran at what felt comfortable.  Turns out it was quite a bit faster than 10 minute/mile pace.  My average pace was 09:19, and I finished in 1:33!

I listened to Pandora during my run, and once again realized that sometimes, Pandora knows me better than I know myself.  It’s scary, really.  Right when I was starting to feel tired (and right before I usually get a second wind), around 4 miles, this song came on.

I love this song.

There’s just something about a great song, especially one that you loved at a specific time in your life.  A song can transport you to another time and place.  A song can lift your mood.  A song can make everything better.  This is one of those songs.  Immediately memories came flooding in, some bittersweet.  For a few minutes I mourned the loss of some very special relationships.  I cried thinking of a window in time that will never come again.

I love music.  I was a music major in college before switching fully to engineering.  For me, music has accompanied every important moment in my life.  And so, almost every song has meaning to me.  Today’s run, Pandora hit just about every one.  Of course, I was listening to Pearl Jam Radio – so in a way, I set myself up, but still.

Alice in Chains – Heaven Beside You
Pearl Jam – Oceans
Smashing Pumpkins – Mayonaise
Pearl Jam – Immortality (another one I could listen to on endless repeat)
Pink Floyd – Wish You Were Here
Alice In Chains – I Stay Away
Radiohead – High and Dry
Candlebox – Far Behind

I’m on a runner’s high, but more so today I’m on a music lover’s high.

Leave a Reply

