Surprise!

I got a surprise this week!  If you have seen my latest dailymile posts, you probably know what it is.  But if not, let me introduce you to my new running partner.

Isn't she a beauty?

Isn’t she a beauty?

Do you see her?  She’s all shiny, and new, and beautiful.  My husband (awesome man that he is) decided that I needed a treadmill for those days when I can’t make it to the gym and for one reason or another can’t run outside.  It was delivered Friday, and yesterday we carried the pieces downstairs.  My seven-year-old and I did the majority of the assembly work – until the last two bolts.  Those last two were cross threaded and the holes didn’t line up, and I had to call for backup.  (In my defense, even with help we only got one of those two in through brute force.  No worries, though, that console isn’t going anywhere.

This morning, after tearing up my knuckles lubricating the belt (there has to be a better way to do that), my seven year old  had the honor of testing it out for the first mile.    This afternoon, although it’s a positively gorgeous day outside, I had to try it out.  So I got my running clothes on, laced up the Altras, and walked downstairs.  It was the weirdest feeling in the world to get dressed and in mere seconds be running.  That never happens for me – I always have to get in the car and drive somewhere.

Anyway, I just finished my first three miles on the treadmill (she needs a name, don’t you think?).   The verdict?  Yeah, I still don’t like treadmills.  But…I will definitely use this one.  There are many days when I can’t make it to the gym because the kids are home.  Or it’s too cold to run outside with the jogging stroller.  Or, my husband is gone and  so I don’t have a chance to go.   I’ve even toyed with the idea of a consecutive day (CD) challenge of at least a mile a day, now that there is really no excuse for not running.

Hope you are all having a great weekend and you’re ready for the Super Bowl (or the Puppy Bowl…) or whatever you’re in the mood for today.  Me, it’s football all the way, although with three kids running around I probably won’t get a chance to watch much.

Question of the day:  What should I name the new treadmill?  I can’t call her “the treadmill” all the time, it sounds boring.  What are your ideas?  For some reason the name “Betsy” just popped into my head.  Odd.

In other news, we hosted a stem cell/bone marrow donor registration drive on Thursday.  We registered 13 potential donors in about an hour?  Have you registered yet?

2 responses to “Surprise!

Leave a Reply

