“…not currently ready…”

I’m feeling a little bit disappointed today.

I’m sure you can probably guess why.

I was told today that I will not be donating bone marrow for the patient I matched back in June.  It was a short email, thanking me for being willing to donate, and followed with a short paragraph:

The patient’s doctors received the results from the blood draw indicating you are a match for this patient.  However, the patient is not currently ready to receive a transplant. This means that we will not ask you to donate at this time. If the patient becomes ready to receive a transplant in the future, which may occur within a week or several months from now, we will contact you to donate.

Now, this doesn’t mean that I will never donate, it just means that the timing isn’t right for a transplant for this patient.  I am hoping and praying that it means the patient is doing better, or that she doesn’t need a transplant just yet.  I do not want to believe it is because she is too sick to receive a transplant, that her condition has worsened.

I was really looking forward to this journey, to sharing it with you, to having an opportunity to recruit more people to get on the bone marrow registry.  I have shared this journey, and I have recruited people to join the registry.  So, in a small way, I have succeeded.  But I can always do more.

I’ve started to look into organizing a bone marrow donor drive here in our community.  I am hoping that I can do this – and continue to advocate for this important cause.  Because it is vitally important.

If you haven’t yet registered, what are you waiting for?  It’s so easy, it costs you nothing, and it could save someone’s life someday.   Click here to learn more.

Leave a Reply

