I am a social runner

So, the home computer is still not fixed.  But, problem (somewhat) solved, I finally gave up and am using my work laptop to update this blog, before anyone who has been reading it gives up in a fit of frustration.

Ha.  Frustration.  Funny I’d choose to use that word.  It’s typified most of my runs lately.  My runs have felt less like the relaxing “me time” that I remember, and more like, well, torture.

Yeah, I said it.  Torture.  I might be going through some sort of running slump.  I’m sure my dailymile pals are sick and tired of seeing me post about another “blah” run.  Yes, “blah” is an option in dailymile.  I’ve used it a lot lately.

Proof.

I even bought new shoes – not entirely because my runs have felt blah, but partially.  And hey, I’ve made it 100% clear that I am a shoe lover.  So I thought new running shoes might be just what I needed.  So I took advantage of a great deal online and ordered the Brooks PureFlow shoes.  For the record, they are pretty great.  But they didn’t help my running much.

Aren’t they pretty? And purple?

In what seems to typify my running lately, I headed out for my long run on Friday morning (last week, yes I am behind).  I was planning to run 11 miles.  1.5 miles into the run, I was faced with this:

Are you kidding me?

So I did what any reasonable runner would do.  I crouched down and crawled under the tree.   But, in a way, it felt like life was trying to throw obstacles into my path:  “Ha!  See if she can make it through this!”   

This was the third or fourth week in a row that I had headed out for my long run and felt blah.  Always the engineer, always analyzing for the root cause of the problem, I started trying to remember the last time I had felt good on a run.  Struggling to think of a good run, it felt like it had been forever.

Then it hit me. 

During marathon training, I did many of my long runs with the LiveUncommon group.  I always had someone nearby to talk with, to complain to, and to distract me from the run.  Those runs were fantastic, and I looked forward to them, excited to head out for a run of 15+ miles.  But those runs that I had to do on my own?  The 19 and 20 mile runs?  I did those alone.  And they stunk.  Sure, I got through them, and I felt better when I was done, but there was definitely something different.  And that something different was company.

I’ve always enjoyed the solitary run.  I like going out and heading for a run, enjoying the time away from the kids, away from work, away from everything.  But somehow, lately, I haven’t been enjoying them quite as much.  And I miss my friends.  I miss having a group to push me to run faster or farther than I would alone.

So I guess I have to face facts and admit it.  I like running with people. Now I just need to make it happen.

Leave a Reply

