The waiting game

I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned it, but I’m horrible at waiting. At its most extreme, I get anxious, nervous, nauseous, the whole gamut. It doesn’t matter if I’m at the start of a race, waiting to leave for a trip, or just waiting for a bus. I get antsy.

In fact, my stomach is doing somersaults right now. But, in all honesty, it’s been doing that a lot lately.

If you’re following this blog you know that I’m in the process of becoming a bone marrow donor. I’ve been waiting for a week since having bloodwork done last Thursday.

I finally got an email from my donor coordinator:
Dear Anne,

On behalf of the patient and her family, we deeply thank you for your willingness to have your blood drawn for Confirmatory Typing and infectious disease testing. Your samples were delivered to the appropriate lab to be analyzed. It may now take up to two months for the patient’s doctors to determine if they would like you to donate. Once we hear anything, we will let you know.

Now that you have completed this stage, you have become an essential part of this patient’s search for a donor and her opportunity for a second chance at life. We strongly encourage you to discuss this commitment with your friends and family, if you have not already. Please remember that it is important that all possible donors are prepared for more testing and are willing to donate if chosen.

If you are chosen to donate the next steps will be:

1. Participate in an information session: a detailed discussion about the donation
2. Attend a physical exam: a medical exam to confirm that donating will not pose any risk to you or the patient
3. Donate peripheral blood stem cells or bone marrow

So after a week of waiting, I’m rewarded with another few weeks (or months) of waiting. I can handle it, but I don’t know if my stomach can.

For now I will just go on with life, running and training, (at some point I should lay out my fall racing schedule…I have somehow signed up for three half marathons in the next few months), and I will wait for the call or email that tells me what to do next.

If you haven’t yet, please go register to be a bone marrow donor. Or, if nothing else, at least go to their site to learn more about the process. If you do, let me know! Every new registration makes my day – even if you are just thinking about it.

20120714-074808.jpg

2 responses to “The waiting game

Leave a Reply

