Run for Renewal

I’m still not sure how some bloggers do it, to get a post out every single day.  It’s hard for me to get even a weekly post out, not to mention a daily post.  Which probably says more about me, my life, and the crazy stuff I have going on than anything else…but still.

This week I took a 25 hour trip to Washington, DC.  Yep, I flew to DC on Monday night, got to the hotel around 10 pm, slept, got up, ran on the hotel treadmill, went to a meeting with the US EPA, went to the airport, changed out of my suit in the airport restroom, and flew home.  Back in time for dinner with the kids…

Sadly that was my only run for the week until Friday.  Luckily I’m trying to make up for it this weekend, and even more luckily this was a cut-back week…

As I type this I have a load of laundry in the wash, two more (wait, maybe three) queued up, a load of diapers in the dryer that need assembled and folded.  I can hear the kids in the living room with their dad, and I know he wants to go for a longish run today.  I also know that I have to get everyone loaded up and get to the grocery store this morning before our soccer game at 1.  We’re bringing snacks and drinks, which I haven’t yet purchased, so it’s a must-do.

Why am I always finishing up things at the last minute?

This weekend was the second of the LiveUncommon race team events, the Run for Renewal 5k.  It was a hilly, challenging course (the “short” hill they mentioned in the race description?  Straight upwards.  Felt like I was rock climbing.  I’m not exaggerating!).  But it was a really fun race.  I considered pushing myself and trying for a PR, or at least to see how I could do.  But in the end, it was a lot more fun to run with a couple of teammates, talking with them the whole time.  In the race picture below that’s exactly what I’m doing…

There’s a second, much more unflattering photo.  I won’t link to it, because I look scary in it.  Crazy scary.  Or scary crazy.  Okay, fine.  I’ll link to it if you can find the link in this sentence, you’re welcome to look at it.  But don’t say you weren’t warned.

All in all, it was a good race, just a shade over 26 minutes (which would have been unthinkable for me a few years ago).  After this race I headed down to the bike path along the river to try and get in a few more miles.  I was hoping for 10, but at mile 2.5 I could feel the blister forming on my toe.  I stopped to check, and sure enough, a bloody sock again.  If we’re counting, this is 4 for this training cycle.  Rather than make it worse, I headed back to the car.  5 miles for a total for the day of 8 miles.  I’m planning to head out and get some more today, but it’s my husband’s day to run long, so we will see how and when I can get out.  That pile of laundry isn’t getting smaller, and snacks for the soccer game are still unpurchased.

If you’ve made it this far in the blog post, you are about to be hit with another request.  Fair warning.  At yesterday’s race, I was struck, profoundly, by the kids there.  They were, in a word, amazing.  These are kids who may not have a positive home life.  They may not have much of a home at all.  Project Renewal provides them a safe place to come, to have a family, to get a meal.  I don’t know what I was expecting as I drove up yesterday.  A business building?  An office?  Something.  What I didn’t expect to see was a tiny white house.  This house is a place where these kids come to feel welcomed, loved, and safe.   I saw these kids yesterday.  They were running (many ran the 5k).  They were playing.  They were volunteering.  All of them there, to help this charity that helps them so much.  And they were wonderful kids!  I wanted to give them all high fives (and I did give many of them as they finished the 5k!).

I know that LiveUncommon is fundraising to support Project Renewal.  And of course, by supporting me on this journey you are supporting them indirectly.  But what I’m asking you to do is a bit more.  Go out to the Project Renewal website.  Look around.  Then go look at the pictures of these kids running in yesterday’s race.  And ask yourself if you can spare a few dollars to support them.  I’ve already decided that I am going to send them a personal donation.  I wish there was more I could do, and I’m going to keep trying to think of ways to support them, but this is the best I can do for now.

This week will be another travel week (when did I start traveling so much?).  I am hoping and praying for trails, or at least an outdoor running path.  Cross your fingers for me!

2 responses to “Run for Renewal

Leave a Reply

