You can never eat too many jelly beans. Really.

I’ve been meaning to write this blog post for three days.  I’d like to say I took that much time to write something meaningful and really insightful, but that would be a lie.

I’ve just been busy. (yeah, yeah, heard that before!)

This last week was Spring Break for the husband and kids.  So we had epic plans.  The week started with me working on Monday, which I don’t usually do.  (My part time schedule has me off on Mondays and Fridays.  I know.  You can hate me.)  I worked Monday, then left directly from work to travel to Chicago for meetings on Tuesday & Wednesday.  My husband picked me up in Chicago and we spent two days on a beer tour of Michigan with some friends.  We drove home late Thursday, and I enjoyed Friday at home with the kids.  In all those days I ran a total of 3 miles.  Sad.  Pitiful, even.  In my defense, those three miles were three miserable miles on a hotel treadmill dreadmill, facing a mirror (you know, because we all love to watch ourselves run), with a single TV tucked in a corner behind the treadmills, out of sight.

So I headed into Saturday’s scheduled 17 mile run with what should have been pretty fresh legs.  I was expecting to be a whole lot more nervous about this run – 2 miles longer than the last “longest run ever” (which also left me feeling, well, not so good).  But I wasn’t nervous, just ready to go.

And it was a good run.  I experimented with “not experimenting” – I returned to my old strategy of fueling every 5 miles, with a gel at 5 miles, jelly beans at 10 (which I ate slowly through the next 4 miles).  I also carried water with nuun, my favorite hydration beverage.  And no lousy stomach!  So it was a success, therefore I will go back to what works.

I’m still a bit in awe that I ran 17 miles.  Unlike the last few weeks, my legs were sore afterwards, and on a family run/walk at the bike path on Sunday evening, I was still feeling a bit sore.  But today I was able to get out for a quick 3 miles and hopefully shook off any lingering effects.

Oh, and my 17 mile run counted for both the 13.1 and 3.1 portions of the Jelly Bean virtual race!  I had really hoped to get in the 10k also, but with the traveling this week, it wasn’t meant to be.  But, since I fueled with jelly beans during my long run, and also since I have eaten way too many of these Starburst jelly beans the last two days (darn that Easter Bunny!), I think I should get bonus points for that.

Jess?  What do you think?

Maybe not.

Oh, well, it was worth a shot.

 

Is a jellybean coma a valid excuse for staying home from work?  

 

Leave a Reply

